Zeil am Main / Germany
Zeil am Main is a town in the district of Lower Franconia Hassberge with about 5,800 residents. In 1383 Zeil was first mentioned as a city. In addition to Bamberg was Zeil am Main during the Thirty Years' War, a main scene of the witch trials of the Bishopric of Bamberg. Today, the city is well known for the production of beer and Franconian wine. The summer wine festival in the city is one of the highlights of the annual event calendar.
Remarkable among others the town's picturesque market square with its old half-timbered houses, as well as the medieval town fortifications with the accompanying town tower. Just outside, in the vineyards rises the castle Schmachtenberg, the ruin of a Hussites castle from the 15th century of the Bamberg bishopric It was built around the years 1420/30, which is relatively late for a new castle building. On the Chapel Hill is the pilgrimage church, called "Zeiler Käppele". Idyllic are also the many small shrubs, which line up along the old city wall. Since 1993, Zeil am Main has housed a photographic museum that offers young photographers the opportunity to exhibit their works.
The lock system was built in 1813. When during 1800 - 1884 the Voss Canal between Zehdenick and Liebenwalde was built, the lock in Zehdenick was renewed at the same time.
The dry dock of the Zehdenick marina is rare and is a working technical monument, built in the second half of the 18th century.