HOTLINE: 06024 / 6718 0 (MO-FR 9:00-18:00)
Foreign countries: +49 6024 6718 0

List of ports - Ecuador

The Cotopaxi is with 5,897 m the second highest mountain in Ecuador and the highest active volcano in the country. Thus it is one of the highest active volcanoes on the entire earth. The Cotopaxi is located in the eastern Andes in central Ecuador, in the same-named national park about 50 km south of Quito. Due to its regular shape and the ice cap at the summit, Cotopaxi is the ideal image of a stratovolcano.
The former Inca city of Cuenca (located south of Quito at 2500 meters in the southern Andes) was conquered in 1533 by the Spaniards. Cuenca has approximately 277,000 inhabitants, the third largest city in Ecuador and capital of the province of Azuay.
The Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve, named after the river Cuyabeno is located in the Ecuadorian rainforest. The reserve officially established in 1979  is used both for the protection of the local flora and fauna, as well as for the preservation of the territories of indigenous peoples living there.
In contrast to the mostly dry southern coastline influenced by the cold Humboldt ocean current, this northwest corner of Ecuador is characterized primarily by hot and humid climate and the warmer ocean. Because it has a lush vegetation from the tropical rainforest to the mangroves by the ocean, Esmeraldas is also called the "Green Province". The port city is located in the northwest of the country on the border with Ecuador and Colombia and by the Pacific. The majority of the population, comprising 110,000 inhabitantsonce descended from the black slaves and gives  this part of the country with its rich tradition a special touch.
Puerto Francisco de Orellana, or shortly called El Coca ', is a town of about 19,000 inhabitants, located in the Amazon region of Ecuador. It is the capital of the province of Orellana and lies at the confluence of the rivers Napo and Coca. The city is named after the Spanish conquistador Francisco de Orellana (1511 - 1546)who sailed as first European on the Amazon from west to east.
On the coast of Ecuador, in a fertile plain, only slightly above sea level, and therefore very warm (up to 40 ° C) is Guayaquil. It is the capital of the  Guayas region (20,500 km², 3.6 million inhabitants) and is thus the largest city in the country.
The Isla de la Plata is located about 30 km off the coast of Ecuador. Meanwhile mostly national park, this island, influenced by the Pacific climate offers diverse forms of vegetation and varied types of animals, both on land and at sea. "Galapagos of the poor", the island is often called, because it is quite comparable to the beautiful islands, but not as rich in species.
Lasso is a small village near the Ecuadorian Cotopaxi National Park. The city has a number of restaurants, but also in the surrounding area there are cozy pubs that offer very good food. Otherwise the village usually serves as a base for trips to the national park.
Manta is a port city (about 200,000 inhabitants) on the Pacific coast of Ecuador. It is located in the province of Manabí and has existed since the time before the Spanish conquest. The most important economic activity is tuna fishing. Other industries are tourism as well as the chemical industry.
Pompeya is located in Ecuador, on the banks of the Amazon.
Puerto Gregorio is a small, Ecuadorian forest village located on the Rio Aguarico.
Puerto Lopez is a small fishing village in Ecuador. It is especially popular because of the great possibilities in the summer to watch whales and because of the culinary delights.
Punta Moreno Bay is located on the island of Isabela, by far the largest of the Galápagos Islands. Due to their isolated location, the islands are home to a variety of endemic animal and plant species. The Galápagos Islands are a true paradise for all nature lovers and are rightly regarded as the most fascinating animal paradise on earth.
Punta Vicente Roca is located on Isabela Island, the largest island of the Galapagos archipelago. The remains of an ancient volcano form two bays, the waters of which shine in bright turquoise.
Quito is the capital of Ecuador and has a population of one million. It has numerous churches and monasteries and has a remarkable old town, which still has distinct traces of colonial styles. It is therefore considered a very Spanish city.
Riobamba has a population of 120,000. The city is located on the Rio Chamba and is surrounded by numerous volcanoes. Since the city was severely destroyed by an earthquake, today it has relatively few old buildings, but rather more recent architecture since the 19th century.
Salinas, about 140 kilometers from Guayaquil, is a well known jet set resort. For many decades it has offered the well-heeled upper class of Guayaquil rest and relaxation.
Sierra Negra is the name of one of the 6 volcanoes of Isla Isabela, the largest island of the Galapagos archipelago. With its isolated location, the island group is home to a large number of endemic plant and animal species and is the ultimate dream destination for all nature lovers. Its volcanic origin characterizes the entire landscape of the island and gives it a mysterious and adventurous beauty.
Atacames and Súa are two small seaside resorts, located in the Ecuadorian province of Esmeralda. Atacames,with some 12,000 inhabitants, is the capital of the province by the same name and is today one of the best known sea resorts in the country.